My new mum skin care ritual

I’m not sure if it was raging hormones, breastfeeding, sleep deprivation or an erratic diet but in the early weeks and months after having Milly my skin looked and felt awful. Dull, dreary and dehydrated. Honestly, a few minutes out of the shower and my face felt like it could soak up an ocean. Not nice.

With the lines around my eyes seemingly quadrupling after every sleepless night, It was clear my skin care routine wasn’t rising to the challenge of being a new mummy. So in between nursing, nappy changing and pondering the hidden meaning of every baby gurgle, I made ploughing some extra moisture into my desert-like epidermis my mission. As a result I’ve completely overhauled my daily beauty ritual and made a commitment to stick to it. And after a bit of trial and error things are starting to look brighter. Literally.

I’ve been slightly reluctant to share my skincare ritual on here. Not because it’s a closely guarded secret or involves bees’ venom, Botox or anything else crazy or ethically dubious, but because I fear the consequences. As every parent learns, there’s nothing more likely to induce a painful sequence of sleepless nights than daring to utter out loud, “my little angel has started sleeping through”. So I’m expecting talking about my skin with a positive tone to provoke a teenage style breakout of the most horrendous variety.

But as I love reading about other people’s beauty habits, I thought the least I could do is share my own. So at the risk of becoming seriously zitty, here it is…

Morning

1. Cleanse

Clinique Liquid Facial Soap Mild applied with the Clinique Sonic Brush for extra buffing.

2. No toner

I’ve read lots about the pointlessness of expensive toners so I decided to cut this out in the spirit of cost and time efficiency. My skin hasn’t noticed.

3. Serum

The Sanctuary Wonder Oil Serum. If it’s good enough for Kate Moss…

4. Moisturise

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Lotion +

5. CC cream with SPF 30

Clinique Moisture Surge CC Cream

Evening

1. Remove eye makeup

With whatever is cheap and cheerful from my local Bodycare.

2. Cleanse

Clinique Liquid Facial Soap Mild applied with the Clinique Sonic Brush.

3. Oil

The Sanctuary Therapist’s Choice Facial Oil

4. Moisturise

Clinique Turnaround Overnight Revitalising Moisturiser 

5. Eyes and lips

Lansinoh Lanolin nipple balm (yes really!)

Weekly (a.k.a. when I remember)

1. Mask

The Sanctuary 5 minute Thermal Detox Mask

2. Exfoliate

No 7 Total Renewal Micro-dermabrasion Exfoliator

And that’s it. Now my new ritual is undeniably heavy duty but being a bit of a product junkie, I quite enjoy it. And the cost…? Well, that’s easily offset by all the free nappies I’ll be entitled to courtesy of the gazillions of Boots Advantage Points I’m stacking up!

Do you swear by a skin-saving miracle product? What’s your routine? Please feel free to share your #hotmummy beauty secrets.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 responses to “My new mum skin care ritual

  1. There are far too many nights still that I fall into bed without taking my make-up off (although I have partly solved the problem by not wearing make-up half the time now). I always wonder if a buzzy brush would inspire me. My secret weapon is from L’Oreal – can’t remember the exact name but its anti fatigue skin perk up or similar. Makes me look like I’ve had 10 hours. Means I don’t scare people when not wearing make-up 😉

    • I’m a big fan of the buzzy brush. But I am easily won over by a gadget – I’m a complete marketer’s dream! Will have to look up your L’Oreal wonder cream. Definitely like the idea of looking like I’ve had 10 hours sleep.

Leave a Reply

